Context

Herding practices

Herding practices

Animal health

The situation of animal health in the Saharan area is worrying. Every year, there is at least one epidemic which devastates cattle. Generally, before the news gets to everybody, a lot of animals are dead. However, there is an effort from governments, attempting to launch a vaccination campaign against the most dangerous diseases every year. Nonetheless, due to the high price of vaccines, most of the herders prefer to turn to herbal cures for their cattle.    

Nutrition and human health

Almost all nutritionists have agreed on the importance of meat consumption because of its calorie content. Meat eating is very important to the growth of children. It gives them energy and works for the quick rehabilitation after they are weakened by infections. It is the most important source of proteins, which are vital to the organism. Apart from the proteins, it offers valuable nutrients including iron, zinc and vitamins.

The body needs proteins to build healthy muscles, bones and skin, as well as producing hormones and synthesize vitamins. Meat provides you with heme-iron, a type of iron that is easier for the body to absorb than the type of iron found in non-meat sources such as vegetables and beans. Zinc helps the immune system function properly, while the vitamin B group helps regulate the nervous system and release energy.

Meat consumption and health

As in every Islamic area, the rate of meat consumption in the Saharan region is high. The average meat eating per week for a Senegalese family is one meal. That rate is good for both their health and the health of the environment, given that studies demonstrate that a reduction in the consumption of animal products would reduce human pressure on the environment. According to some research, lowering the meat consumption may free up one million square kilometers of crop-land and 27 million square kilometers of pasture that could be used to store large amounts of carbon as the vegetation regrows. Regular and well balanced meat also lowers the risk of obesity and heart attack due to an important rate of grease in the organism. 

Useful studies

©1998-2019 ICVolunteers|system mcart|Updated: 2019-12-04 14:25 GMT|Privacy|

Contexte

Pratiques d'élevage

Pratiques d'élevage

Santé des animaux

La situation concernant la santé des animaux du Sahara est préoccupante. Chaque année, il y a au moins une épidémie qui dévaste les troupeaux. En général, beaucoup d’animaux meurent avant que tous les acteurs concernés n’aient eu le temps d’apprendre la nouvelle. Toutefois, on remarque un effort de la part des gouvernements pour lancer des campagnes de vaccination contre les maladies les plus dangereuses chaque année. Néanmoins, les prix élevés des vaccins conduisent bon nombre d’éleveurs à se replier sur des traitements par les plantes pour soigner leur troupeau.

Nutrition et santé de l’Homme

La plupart des nutritionnistes s’accordent sur l’importance de la consommation de viande pour les calories qu’elle contient. Manger de la viande est essentiel à la croissance des enfants. La viande leur apporte de l’énergie et leur permet de se rétablir vite à la suite d’une infection. Il s’agit d’une source importante de protéines vitales pour l’organisme. En plus de ces protéines, la viande apporte de précieux nutriments comme le fer, le zinc et les vitamines.
Le corps a besoin de protéines pour développer des muscles, des os et une peau saine, ainsi que pour produire des hormones et pour synthétiser les vitamines. La viande contient du fer hémique qui est plus facile à absorber que le fer contenu dans les légumes et les légumineuses. Le zinc aide le système immunitaire à fonctionner correctement, tandis que les vitamines B régulent le système nerveux et créent de l’énergie.

Consommation de viande et santé

Comme dans toutes les régions islamiques, le taux de consommation de viande est élevé dans les régions sahariennes. Une famille sénégalaise mange en moyenne un repas constitué de viande par semaine. Ce taux est bénéfique à la fois pour leur santé et pour l’environnement. Des études ont démontré que réduire la consommation de viande permettrait de libérer plus d’un million de kilomètres carrés de terre cultivable et 27 millions de kilomètres carrés de pâturages, qui pourraient alors être utilisés pour fixer une grande quantité de carbone au fur et à mesure que la végétation repousse. Un apport normal et équilibré en viande réduit les risques d’obésité et d’attaque cardiaque provoqués par des taux de graisse trop élevés dans l’organisme.

©1998-2017 ICVolunteers|system mcart|Mis à jour: 2014-02-24 09:15 GMT|Notre politique|